Kristi

Not-so-smooth Criminal

In Uncategorized on November 30, 2008 at 4:03 am

door A couple of weeks ago, my house was robbed. My fiance and I left to drop the kids off at my parents house. We were gone for an hour and a half at the most. We came back with our Taco Bell, a luxury to us now days, only to open our door and find our entertainment cabinet tipped over with a missing 42 inch LCD.

We actually had to leave the house and go to a nearby pay phone to call the cops. We may “appear” to be doing just fine but with the economy as bad as it is, his overtime is gone and I have been looking for a job since I had our daughter in August with no luck.

We came back to our house to see if anything else was missing. You bet! My 32 inch LCD was missing as well. Our back door knob was busted- whoever did it broke into our house with a crow bar or something.

Obviously, I was really devastated about the T.V’s. Mine was a Christmas present from my fiance and the other was one that he hadn’t had very long and was still making payments on. So now we are stuck paying on a T.V we no longer have.

You hear about these things all the time and put very little thought into it. But lets get personal for a second here. These two T.V’s were actually our pride. They belonged to us. My fiance works his ass off to provide for our family, for some low life scum-bag to break into our house and steal something he worked hard for. The sickest part about it is, in front of the T.V were family photos. So they saw we had kids. No conscience whatsoever. We are sitting here worried about how we are going to cover Christmas costs for our kids this year, while someone made off with our stuff as if they deserved it or something.

On top of being devastated about our missing items, I am now fearful. I don’t go outside with my kids while I am at the house alone. Every time I walk in my door, I look around to see if something is missing. I am always looking out my window to see if someone is watching- or checking my doors over and over to make sure they are locked. I check on my kids over and over at night to make sure they are ok and little noises our attic makes has me paranoid that someone is trying to get in a window or something. I don’t feel safe anymore. I don’t know WHO is watching me now- and for what reason. It was T.V’s this time thank God, but what about rapists, serial killers and child abductors?

The world is a very sad place these days. I have a lot on my mind, very little of which is positive. I am scared for my children because though I am only 24, I have seen this world go downhill since I have been here.

I turn the news on and it’s like I am living in a scary movie. People have no hearts. Most of the people doing these things aren’t crazy at all. They are totally aware of what they are doing. But here is the kicker. They think that because THEY have hit hard times, they have the right to take things that don’t belong to them. I am so sure whoever did this to us saw my fiance’s Benz and assumed we had it like that- that we could easily replace it. They may have children of their own. But they don’t feel guilty. They don’t think about how it affects the people they take from. They just don’t think much about it. It drives me crazy every day not knowing who did it and why they did it. Just unbelievable.

There are bigger fish to fry in this world. We have terrorists blowing up buildings, killing innocent people. There are children starving to death. There are people dying from illnesses every day; people dying in car accidents or dying on the job somewhere. There is absolutely no call for making life harder for people, it’s hard enough as it is.

I do not have a job right now and we are not doing great financially. I do not use this as an excuse to insinuate anyone owes me anything in life. I can’t wait to find another job and once again become a productive citizen, contributing to society in some way. That’s what life is about. If you are not part of the solution you are part of the problem. These acts of violence and pure hatred always comes back to haunt these people, I hope whoever did it understands that one. While I sit here and scare myself to death, wondering who is watching me, I hope they wonder to themselves when their punishment will come- and in what form it will be. What goes around ALWAYS always comes around.

  1. I am so sorry that this had to happen to you! How horrible to find that someone so uncaring could ruin you life in one swift moment of greed. Thank goodness I’ve never had to go through this, so I can’t say “I know how you feel”, but it reminds me to never take anything for granted. In this day and age, when so many people are scraping the bottom of the barrel just to survive, it’s sickening to think that there are still “bad guys” out there. I hope you are able to figure everything out, and that your family remains safe.

  2. Thanks Sarah! As horrible as I *still* feel about the situation it’s always a breath of fresh air to hear that *someone* actually cares. I mean you call the cops they come over and scope out the scene, totally removed from the situation. They deal with this kinda stuff all the time so it’s like, “No big deal, your stuff was stolen, at least your family is safe”….TRUE. But it doesn’t make me *feel* safe. To add insult to injury they assigned us a detective that was on vacation for two weeks! We have yet to get ahold of this “detective” so as I suspected, it’s so long to our belongings.

    We don’t live in a horrible area. We don’t advertise our belongings. We keep to ourselves and remain on guard at all times- anyone who has kids is constantly on guard. But these things STILL take place and there is little anyone can do to stop them. The fact that we don’t mingle with people we haven’t known for a billion years, we don’t advertise what we have, only leads me to believe that we were stereotyped because of the car we drive. I mean, we live in a rental and it isn’t the best looking from the outside. My fear is that one day my Fiance may get robbed because of the car he drives, it’s really sad you can’t have a *few* nice things without people suspecting you are loaded.

    The lesson I got out of this is to never assume it can’t happen to you. I still find myself in disbelief, I just still can’t believe I came home after being gone an hour (in the middle of the day( and found my things gone. Keep yourself and your family safe because you never know who is scoping you out.

  3. I’m sorry to hear that your tv’s were stolen. I know exactly what you are going through.

    A few years ago I was babysitting my nephew for my sister. There was a friend that always hung out with their dad. One morning I woke up to see someone in the hall next to my nephew. I woke up long enough to hear my nephew say that he’s a friend, and I promtly fell back to sleep. I woke up feeling that something wasn’t right. The guy had stolen some movies and probably some jewelry. Luckily, my nephew and I were safe from harm. I must had someone watching over to protect me because I was unable to wake up on my own. He was arrested and thankfully my nephew and I didn’t have to appear for trial…..

    I hope that things get better for you guys and hopefully, you will find out who did it. Things will get better, hang in there.

  4. Omg, that’s crazy! That’s what I am freaked out about. If they could break in our house while we were away then they could do it when we are home. You are right, thank God yall are ok- people do sicker things than just stealing tv’s and stuff….

Leave a comment